Old Southwest Conference rivals in town this weekend

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, September 23rd, 2017

A little background
The Arkansas–Texas A&M football rivalry is an American college
football rivalry between the Arkansas Razorbacks and Texas A&M Aggies.
It started in 1903.
Between 1992 and 2008, the schools did not play each other when
Arkansas left the Southwest Conference to join the SEC. The rivalry
was renewed as a neutral-site out-of-conference contest (and branded
as The Southwest Classic) in 2009; in 2012 it once again became a
conference rivalry when Texas A&M also joined the SEC.
Arkansas leads the series 41–29–3.
Series history
Arkansas and A&M first played each other in 1903, and would play
each other three times from 1903–12, all as non-conference matchups.
Arkansas and Texas A&M would not meet on the field again until
1927, notwithstanding that both schools became charter members of the
Southwest Conference 12 years earlier in 1915. The schools played
annually from 1927–30, but would not meet again until 1934. From
1934–91, the two teams played annually as conference members. The
annual matchup ceased in 1991 when Arkansas left to join the
Southeastern Conference.
On March 10, 2008, officials from both schools announced the
series would recommence on October 3, 2009 under the name “Southwest
Classic”. The annual location for the game was announced as Cowboys
Stadium, in Arlington. The attendance for the stadium was initially
expected to be in the 80,000 range. Depending on ticket demand,
temporary seating can be added to the stadium to increase the capacity
up to 100,000 seats for the game. The tickets were said to be split
50/50 between the two schools. The initial agreement between the
two schools allowed the game to be played for at least 10 years,
followed by 5 consecutive, 4-year rollover options, allowing the game
to potentially be played for a total of 30 consecutive seasons.
The rivalry once again became a conference matchup when Texas A&M
joined the SEC on July 1, 2012 and was placed alongside Arkansas in
the West Division.
However, for A&M’s first two seasons in the SEC the series was played
as a home-and-home series at the school’s campuses (A&M hosted in 2012
/ Arkansas in 2013); the series resumed neutral-site play in AT&T
Stadium for the 2014 season until at least 2024.
A&M currently (since the 2012 contest) holds an undefeated record
in the series while both teams have been members of the same
conference and division.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>