2017 All-Canadian College Baseball Team Unveiled

by BoCarter | Posted on Wednesday, December 27th, 2017
From Contact: Bob Elliott bobelliott49@gmail.com
For Immediate Release

Canadian Baseball Network unveils 2017 Canadian college Player of the Year, annual All-Canadian college team

Toronto, Ont. – The Canadian Baseball Network announced its 2017 Canadian college Player of the Year and its 18th  annual All-Canadian college team earlier this month.

Outfielder Christopher Acosta-Tapia (Laval, Que.) has been named CBN’s college Player of the Year. He received first-place votes on 41 of 51 (80.3%) ballots cast by a large panel of scouts, coaches, executives, former players, writers and broadcasters.

The Oklahoma Wesleyan Eagles star was a three-time Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference (KCAC) Player of the Week, earned NAIA First Team All-American honours and was recognized as National Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and Rawlings Sporting Goods.

Acosta-Tapia led the NAIA in doubles (27), total bases (208) and runs scored (89) and played a key role in Oklahoma Wesleyan’s first-ever KCAC title and the program’s second trip to the Avista-NAIA World Series..

He also claimed one of the outfield positions on CBN’s All-Canadian First Team and is one of two Quebec players on the squad. The First Team also boasts four Ontario players, two Albertans and one player each from B.C., P.E.I. and Saskatchewan.

Okotoks, Alta., native Matt Lloyd was voted in as a reliever and as the DH on the First Team. The right-hander notched three wins and nine saves for the Indiana Hoosiers, while also belting 11 home runs and posting a .554 slugging percentage.

The Canadian Baseball Network’s 18th annual All-Canadian First Team (as noted below) consists of five NCAA players, four NJCAA players and two NAIA players.

Canadian Baseball Network All-Canadian First Team

Left-hander – J.P. Stevenson (New Glasgow, PEI) Canisius Golden Griffins, NCAA

Right-hander – Noah Gapp (St. Albert, Alta.) Cumberlands Patriots, NAIA

Reliever – Matt Lloyd (Okotoks, Alta.) Indiana Hoosiers, NCAA

Catcher – Tony Hrynkiw (Brampton, Ont.), Connors State Cowboys, NJCAA

First Base – J.D. Osborne (Whitby, Ont.), Tampa Spartans, NCAA (Div. II)

Second Base – Jared Young (Prince George, B.C.), Old Dominion Monarchs, NCAA

Third Base – Brett Esau (Meadow Lake, Sask.), Frank Phillips Plainsmen, NJCAA

Shortstop – Max Hewitt (Barrie, Ont.), Connors State Cowboys, NJCAA

Outfielders – Christopher Acosta-Tapia (Laval, Que.) Oklahoma Wesleyan Eagles, NAIA; Tristan Pompey (Mississauga, Ont.) Kentucky Wildcats, NCAA; Jonathan Lacroix (Montreal, Que.) Seminole State Trojans, NJCAA

DH – Matt Lloyd (Okotoks, Alta.), Indiana Hoosiers, NCAA

Fifty-one baseball experts from eight different provinces and six states voted for the Canadian Baseball Network’s annual college All-Canadian team which has been recognized since 2001. The Canadian Baseball Network is regarded as the premier source of information on Canadian college players. Kevin Wall and George Farelli are the site’s primary statisticians.

For more detailed information about each member of the Canadian Baseball Network’s 18th annual college All-Canadian team, visit https://www.canadianbaseballnetwork.com/



Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>