SMU Legend Bob Prewitt Passes

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, May 5th, 2018


SMU Legend Bob Prewitt Passed Away Thursday At The Age Of 93


DALLAS (SMU) – SMU basketball legend Bob Prewitt passed away on Thursday. He was part of the Mustangs’ program for more than three decades, serving as a student-athlete, assistant coach and head coach from 1946 to 1975. His career included nine Southwest Conference Championships and a trip to the NCAA Final Four.

After serving in the Army Air Corps, the Columbus, Indiana, native arrived on the Hilltop as a student-athlete in 1946. He earned three varsity letters, and was selected team captain for the 1948-49 season. Following his senior season, he was named All-Southwest Conference first team.

After graduation, Head Coach Doc Hayes added Prewitt as his assistant coach which included serving as the head coach of the freshman team. During his 18 seasons as an assistant coach, the Mustangs won eight Southwest Conference Championships, made six NCAA Tournaments and reached the 1956 Final Four.

In 1967, Prewitt began an eight-year run as head coach. He led the Mustangs to the Southwest Conference title in 1972, adding a ninth championship during his tenure. In those eight seasons, nine Mustangs earned 15 all-league honors with Gene Phillips earning three Southwest Conference Player of the Year honors.

In total, Prewitt coached players that earned five All-American selections, five Southwest Conference Player of the Year awards and 43 All-SWC honors. He coached five SMU Hall of Famers: Rick Herrscher, Denny Holman, Jim Krebs, Gene Phillips and Ira Terrell.

The family has requested that gifts made in Bob Prewitt’s honor be directed to the SMU Men’s Basketball Excellence Fund.

SWC Champs

NCAA Tournament
1955 – Regional Semifinal
1956 – Final Four
1957 – Regional Semifinal
1965 – Regional Semifinal
1966 – Regional Semifinal
1967 – Regional Final

1955-56 Jim Krebs
1956-57 Jim Krebs
1959-60 Max Williams
1969-70 Gene Phillips
1970-71 Gene Phillips

SWC Player of the Year
1957-58 Rick Herrscher
1966-67 Denny Holman
1968-69 Gene Phillips
1969-70 Gene Phillips
1970-71 Gene Phillips

All-SWC 1st-Team
1949-50 Jack Brown, Paul Mitchell
1950-51 Jack Brown
1953-54 Derrell Murphy
1954-55 Jim Krebs, Art Barnes
1955-56 Jim Krebs, Bobby Mills, Larry Showalter
1956-57 Jim Krebs, Bobby Mills, Rick Herrscher, Larry Showalter
1957-58 Rick Herrscher
1958-59 Bobby James, Max Williams
1959-60 Max Williams, Steve Strange
1960-61 Jan Loudermilk
1961-62 Jan Loudermilk
1963-64 Gene Elmore
1964-65 Carroll Hooser
1965-66 Charles Beasley, Carroll Hooser
1966-67 Charles Beasley, Denny Holman
1966-67 Charles Beasley, Denny Holman
1968-69 Gene Phillips, Bill Voight
1969-70 Gene Phillips, Bill Voight
1970-71 Gene Phillips
1971-72 Ruben Triplett
1972-73 Sammy Hervey, Ira Terrell
1973-74 Ira Terrell

All-SWC 2nd-Team
1960-61 Steve Strange
1965-66 Bob Begert
1967-68 Lynn Phillips
1968-69 Lynn Phillips
1972-73 Zachary Thiel
1973-74 Zachary Thiel


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>