Six college football legends enshrined in Cotton Bowl Classic Hall of Fame

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, May 12th, 2018

Team Photo_ Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame_6935_CBAA HOF 050818
Six individuals who helped shape the tradition of the Goodyear
Cotton Bowl Classic and college football history were inducted today
into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame during enshrinement ceremonies at
AT&T Stadium.
The honorees in the 11th Hall of Fame Class included Texas A&M
linebacker Quentin Coryatt, Arkansas/Ole Miss head coach Houston Nutt,
USC head coach John Robinson, Penn State halfback/linebacker Wallace
Triplett, Texas running back Ricky Williams, and Oklahoma strong
safety Roy Williams. Mr. Triplett was represented by his daughter,
Alison Triplett, and granddaughter Ayanna McConnell.
Each member of the Hall of Fame Class received a personalized
bronze statue in the likeness of a 1930s football player, the era in
which the Classic was founded.
“This wonderful spring time event showcases the rich tradition of
college football in North Texas and provides future generations with a
greater appreciation of our game’s history,” said Carl Ice, Chairman
of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association. “Honoring those who have
played such a vital role in the success of the Goodyear Cotton Bowl is
important to all of us. It gives me great pleasure to welcome The
Class of 2018 into this prestigious fraternity.”
Team Photo Identification: Coach Houston Nutt (Arkansas/Ole
Miss), Alison Triplett (Penn State), Ayanna McConnell (Penn State),
Roy Williams (Oklahoma), Ricky Williams (Texas), Coach John Robinson
(USC),Quentin Coryatt (A&M).


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>