Baylor wins Big 12 Tournament Championship

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, June 2nd, 2018

Game 13: No. 5 Baylor 6, No. 6 TCU 5 (11 innings)

OKLAHOMA CITY- Shea Langeliers’ RBI single in the bottom of the 11th gave No. 5-seeded Baylor its first Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship title with a 6-5 win over No. 6-seeded TCU at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark.
Langeliers, the Bears’ catcher, was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player, along with teammate and starting pitcher Cody Bradford. Langeliers finished with seven hits, six RBIs and a homer while batting .368 in the tournament.     Bradford, also the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year, delivered a four-hit shutout and fanned 11 in the Bears’ championship opener against Oklahoma.
A three-run dart over the left field wall by sophomore Davis Wendzel gave Baylor its (36-19) first three runs in the first. The Bears successfully hit a home run in every game this tournament.
TCU’s Connor Wanhanen and A.J. Balta stepped up to the plate to shorten the Baylor lead, 3-2 by knocking two homers in the second and third inning, respectively.     The Horned Frogs (33-23) seized the lead in the top of the eighth with a two-run bomb to center field by Balta.
With two outs in the bottom of the ninth, Baylor junior Richard Cunningham roped an RBI double into right field to send the game into extra innings.
Recording his only hit of the day, Conner Shepard put TCU back on top in the 11th after a double to right field to put the lead at 5-4.
The Baylor lineup came together in the bottom of the frame in a final attempt for the title. After TCU gave up a bases-loaded walk to tie the game, Langeliers singled up the middle to secure the 6-5 victory and Baylor’s first Big 12 postseason title.      Senior Troy Montemayor (2-1) was tabbed the winning pitcher by holding the TCU offense to one run on one hit.

2018 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship All-Tournament Team

Catcher: Shea Langeliers, Baylor
First Base: Cameron Warren, Texas Tech
Second Base: Kyle Gray, West Virginia
Shortstop: Nick Loftin, Baylor
Third Base: Davis Wendzel, Baylor
Outfield: A.J. Balta, TCU
Outfield: Darius Hill, West Virginia
Outfield: Johnny Rizer, TCU
Designated Hitter: Richard Cunningham, Baylor
Starting Pitcher: Cody Bradford, Baylor
Starting Pitcher: Sean Wymer, TCU
Relief Pitcher: Jake Eissler, TCU
Most Outstanding Player:  Cody Bradford and Shea Langeliers, Baylor


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>