Denny Holman named to the Southwest Conference Hall Of Fame Class of 2018

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, July 7th, 2018

Holman Was Inducted In The SMU Athletics Hall Of Fame In May

SWC Induction for the nine new members To Be Held In Fort Worth On September 10
SMU legend Denny Holman was selected to the 2018 Southwest
Conference Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame announced
earlier this week. Holman played basketball at SMU from 1964-67,
helping the Mustangs to three SWC titles and the 1967 NCAA Regional
Holman, who was inducted in the SMU Athletics Hall of Fame in
May, was named SWC Player of the Year in 1967 after earning
all-conference and all-district selections. The Mustangs went 54-25
during his seasons on the Hilltop with a 33-9 league record. Holman
went on to play professionally for the Dallas Chaparrals.

The 2018 SWC Hall of Fame class will honor former Arkansas College Football
All-American, Steve Atwater, All-SWC Baylor basketball player, Tommy
Bowman, All American basketball player from the University of Houston,
Larry Micheaux, former women’s track & field coach from Rice, Victor
Lopez, SMU basketball standout, Denny Holman, University of Texas
All-American baseball player, Brooks Kieschnick, Texas A&M football
and track legend, Curtis Dickey, former TCU star basketball player,
Kurt Thomas and All-SWC quarterback from Texas Tech, Joe Barnes.
The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame is one of four separate
halls of fame housed within the Texas Sports Hall of Fame located in
The SWC hall of Fame induction is Monday, September 10, in Fort
Worth. For more information,visit http://www.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>