2019 College Football HoF ballot released

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, July 7th, 2018

2019 Hall of Fame Class will be announced Monday, Jan. 7, 2019, in
Santa Clara, California prior to College Football Playoff National

By National Football Foundation
The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame
announced today the names on the 2019 ballot for induction into the
College Football Hall of Fame, including 76 players and six coaches
from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 100 players and 32 coaches from
the divisional ranks.
“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think
that more than 5.26 million people have played college football and
only 997 players have been inducted,” said NFF President & CEO Steve
Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American
creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even
eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly
among the greatest to have ever played the game, and those actually
elected to the Class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate
the 150th anniversary of college football in 2019.”
The ballot was emailed today to the more than 12,000 NFF members
and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted
to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the
class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College
Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, and the
Divisional Honors Court, chaired by former Marshall head coach,
longtime athletics director and NFF Board Member Jack Lengyel, include
an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators,
Hall of Famers and members of the media.
“Having a ballot and a voice in the selection of the inductees is
one of the most cherished NFF member benefits,” said NFF Chairman
Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Mississippi. “There
is no group more knowledgeable or passionate about college football
than our membership, and the tradition of the ballot helps us engage
them in the lofty responsibility of selecting those who have reached
the pinnacle of achievement in our sport.”
The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 7,
2019, in Santa Clara, California…the host for the CFP National
Championship, which will be played later that day at Levi’s Stadium.
Some of the electees will be on site during the announcement to
represent the class and share their thoughts on being elected. The
Jan. 7 announcement will be televised live, and specific viewing
information will be available as the date draws near. Several of the
electees will also participate in the pregame festivities and the coin
toss before the championship game.
“We cannot thank CFP Exec. Director Bill Hancock and his staff
enough for the opportunity to continue the tradition of announcing our
Hall of Fame Class in conjunction with the National Championship,”
said Hatchell. “Our presence at the title game has significantly
raised the profile of the announcement, allowing us to shine a much
brighter light on the accomplishments of our game’s greatest legends.”
The 2019 class will officially be inducted during the 62nd NFF
Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown.
They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall
of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during
the 2019 season.
The criteria for Hall of Fame consideration include:
* First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team
All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized
by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America
* A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s
Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate
football played.
* While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of
prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also
weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the
ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and
his fellow man, with love of his country. Consideration may also be
given for academic honors and whether the candidate earned a college
* Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate
football within the last 50 years.* For example, to be eligible for
the 2019 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1969 or
thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and
coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible
until after they retire.
* A coach becomes eligible three full seasons after retirement or
immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of
age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have
been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100
games with a .600 winning percentage.
*Players who do not comply with the 50-year rule may still be
eligible for consideration by the Football Bowl Sub division and
Divisional Veterans Committees.
Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are
submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on
their school’s geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine
who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective
districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not
selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and
will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on
the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee
may make recommendations to the Honors Court for exceptions that allow
for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago.
Of the 5.26 million individuals who have played college football
since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 997
players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame,
or less than two one-hundredths of a percent (.02%) of those who have
played the game during the past 149 years. From the coaching ranks,
217 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.
The 2019 voting deadline is June 22. If you would like to become
a member and receive this year’s ballot, please contact NFF Director
of Membership Ron Dilatush at rdilatush@footballfoundation.com.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>