College Football Notes – Nov. 28-29

by BoCarter | Posted on Tuesday, November 29th, 2011

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame feature some of the top names in college football at the national news conference at the Waldorf=Astoria on Tuesday, Dec. 6, prior to the 54th annual Awards Dinner. A very limited number of tickets still remain for the dinner on the evening of Dec. 6, and for more information, please contact NFF Director of National Events Will Rudd at 1-800-486-1865 or via email at The event features many of the greatest names in football on all levels and includes announcement of the 2011 William V. Campbell Award (22nd annual) while paying special tribute to ‘11 NFF College Hall of Fame inductees (61st class) and NFF national award recipients. Among the principals at the gathering will be the 2011 NFF FBS Hall of Fame student-athletes and coaches, Robert Gates, 2011 NFF Gold Medal recipient, former U.S. Secretary of Defense, and president at Texas A&M; Archie Roberts, 2011 NFF Distinguished American Award recipient, renowned heart surgeon and Columbia grid standout; Archie Manning, NFF chairman and Ole Miss legend; Steve Hatchell, NFF president & CEO; Kathleen Murphy, president, Personal Investing at Fidelity Investments; and Greg Gordon, senior VP, Consumer Marketing, Liberty Mutual Insurance; and the award winners announced live that night. Popular and award-winning ESPN commentator Rece Davis, the pride of Muscle Shoals, Ala., will serve as master of ceremonies for the 54th annual Awards Dinner. This is his second appearance at the NFF podium, and he follows in the footsteps of broadcast legends such as 25-years-plus host Chris Schenkel, Tim Brando, Chris Fowler, Verne Lundquist, Harry Smith, and Mike Tirico, among others.
Happy birthdays to NFF College Hall of Famers Bo Jackson (Nov. 30), Mike McGee and Rob Waldrop (Dec. 1), Randy Rhino and Pat Fitzgerald (Dec. 2), and Roy Kidd and Frank Emanuel (Dec. 4), and Tom Brown and Jim Plunkett (Dec. 5)…

NFF College Hall of Fame Facts
Some key birthdates in NFF College Football Hall of Fame annals in the Nov. 29-Dec. 5 time period are Nov. 29 (1907) Dale Van Sickel, Eatonton, Ga.; (1924) Dick Duden, Pottstown, Pa.; Nov. 30 (1927) Jim Butterfield, Tampa, Fla.; (1962) Bo Jackson, Bessemer, Ala.; Dec. 1 (1892) Charlie Bachman, Chicago; (1931) Steve Eisenhauer, Sheffield, Pa.; (1938) Mike McGee, Washington, D.C.; (1971) Rob Waldrop, Atlanta, Ga.; Dec. 2 (1901) George Owen, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; (1953) Randy Rhino, Atlanta, Ga.; (1974) Pat Fitzgerald, Orland Park, Ill.; Dec. 3 (1923) Tom Fears, Los Angeles, Calif.; (1957) Keith Dorney, Allentown, Pa.; Dec. 3 (1885) Francis Schmidt, Downs, Kan.; Dec. 4 (1901) Adam Walsh, Churchville, Iowa; (1908) Tommy Yarr, Dabob, Wash.; (1931) Roy Kidd, Corbin, Ky.; (1942) Frank Emanuel, Clio, S.C.; Dec. 5 (1892) Jim Phelan, Sacramento, Calif.; (1927) Frosty Westering, Council Bluffs, Iowa; (1936) Tom Brown, Albert Lea, Minn.; (1947) Jim Plunkett, San Jose, Calif.; (1963) Larry Station, Omaha, Neb.
Anniversary death dates of Hall of Famers are Nov. 29 (1996) Bob Steuber, St. Louis, Mo.; Nov. 30 (1991) David Nelson, Newark, Del.; Dec. 1 (1986) Bobby Layne, Lubbock, Texas; Dec. 3 (1982) Dutch Meyer, Fort Worth, Texas; Dec. 4 (1975) Jack Mollenkopf, West Lafayette, Ind.
Notable from BCS Standings: Conference championship games to determine automatic BCS recipients after last Saturday are ACC: Clemson-Virginia Tech (Saturday in Charlotte); Big Ten: Michigan State-Wisconsin (Saturday in Indianapolis); SEC: Georgia-LSU (Saturday in Atlanta); Pacific-12: Oregon-UCLA (Friday in Eugene, Ore.). This is the inaugural season for Big Ten and Pac-12 championships while the Big 12 Conference discontinued its title game after 15 seasons when it dropped to 10 schools prior to 2011…Other conference title games this week are Conference USA: Houston-Southern Miss (Saturday in Houston) and Mid-American: Ohio-Northern Illinois (in a tiebreaker decided by a 63-60 NIU win over co-division champ Toledo; Friday in Detroit).
Indiana has scheduled Indiana State for Aug. 31, 2013, and Navy Sept. 7, 2013…East Carolina will face both North Carolina and NC State in 2013 on dates to be determined…Ohio State tangles with Florida A&M in a new series on Sept. 7, 2013, has a new home-and-home contract with North Carolina and in Columbus on Sept. 5, 2015 and in Chapel Hill, N.C., on Sept. 23, 2017…OSU also has requested cancellation of its 2018 and ’19 games with Tennessee as the Big Ten moves to a nine-game conference slate…Colorado will meet Colorado State in Denver on Aug. 30, 2014, and will host Hawai’i in Boulder Sept. 20, 2014. The Buffaloes also broke a 24-game road losing streak with a 17-14 win at Utah last Friday to clinch South Division representation for UCLA (coached by former Colorado head coach Rick Neuheisel) in Friday’s Pacific-12 Conference championship at Oregon…Lehigh has downed Lafayette four consecutive times but still trails Lafayette 76-67-4 in college football’s most-layed series (147 games)…Air Force and Colorado State competed for the 32nd annual Ram/Falcon Trophy in Fort Collins, Colo….Boise State was the 10th Top 25 regular-season opponent Wyoming has faced since 2009…Georgia Southern recently became the eighth NCAA FCS team to receive votes in the Associated Press Top 25 poll since 2007 after the Eagles captured the Southern Conference title and advanced to postseason…Wyoming has added some free parking areas for various athletics events…Kentucky ended a 26-game series domination by Tennessee with a win over the Volunteers last week in Lexington, Ky….Wake Forest is bowl eligible for the first time since 2008, the same year the Demon Deacons started a three-game winning streak over Vanderbilt+++…Houston has continued its best start in school annals at 12-0 after last week’s win at Tulsa…Bowl-bound Louisiana Tech ended Nevada’s 16-game home winning streak and a 10-contest WAC victory skein with a recent comeback win over the Wolfpack…Arkansas’ only two losses in 2011 have come to last week’s No. 1 LSU and No. 2 Alabama teams nationally…Missouri athletics is contemplating stadium expansion with its upcoming move to the SEC in 2012-13…San Jose State enters Saturday’s season finale against Fresno State with more wins in 2011 (four) than the last two campaigns combined…Oregon is working to provide additional seating towers in its north end zone area where some new seats were made available for games this year…Missouri State is banking on 20 redshirt freshmen student-athletes from the 2011 squad to make a major difference for head coach Terry Allen and his ’12 unit…Incarnate Word (Texas) is pondering a possible move to NCAA FCS in coming years…There already are 15 schools with 10 wins in 2011 and one weekend remaining for several others with nine triumphs. Last season, including bowl contests, there were 21 total FBS squads with 10 or more victories…Not including the 2010 campaign, Ohio State is 15-4 in games in November since 2005…Missouri has played in the most overtime games in FBS annals with 16 (including two in 2011).

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>