SMU announces men’s non-conference slate

by Dan M | Posted on Sunday, August 30th, 2015


Mustangs To Host Michigan (Dec. 8) And Gonzaga (Feb. 13) At Moody Coliseum
Season Opens At Home vs. Sam Houston State on Nov. 14

DALLAS (SMU) – Home games against Michigan and Gonzaga as well as road games at Stanford and TCU highlight SMU’s 2015-16 non-conference basketball schedule. The Michigan and Gonzaga games at Moody Coliseum will be featured on ESPN2.
The season opens at Moody Coliseum versus Sam Houston State on Saturday, Nov. 14. SMU follows the opener with a visit to Stanford (Nov. 19), the 2015 NIT Champion. The home slate also includes Yale (Nov. 22), Brown (Nov. 29) and New Hampshire (Dec. 5). After a one-year hiatus, SMU and TCU will meet on the hardwood in Fort Worth on Dec. 2.
The Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic begins with the Mustangs facing Nicholls State (Dec. 16) and Hampton (Dec. 17) in the host rounds at Moody Coliseum. In Las Vegas, SMU will face Kent State at The Orleans Arena in the semifinals (Dec. 22) before facing Colorado or Penn State the following day.
SMU’s title defense in the American Athletic Conference includes two games against Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, Tulane, Tulsa and USF. The Mustangs have only one matchup with UCF (home) and Temple (away). The conference championship will be played March 10-13 (Thursday-Sunday) at the Amway Center in Orlando, Florida.
The 2014-15 season saw SMU win the AAC regular season and tournament titles en route to reaching the NCAA Tournament. The Mustangs finished the season 27-7 overall, winning 27 games for the second straight year. SMU spent nine weeks in the AP and USA Today Top 25, finishing the season No. 18 in the AP and receiving votes in the USA Today Coaches Poll. The Mustangs set home attendance records for a season (124,986) and average (6,944) while going 16-2 in Moody Coliseum.
The Mustangs return seven letterwinners including Nic Moore, the reigning AAC Player of the Year and honorable Mention AP All-American. Markus Kennedy returns after winning AAC Sixth Man of the Year and Most Outstanding Player of The American Championship. SMU also returns starters Sterling Brown and Ben Moore as well as Ben Emelogu II, Keith Frazier and Jonathan Wilfong. Five newcomers join Head Coach Larry Brown; transfers Jordan Tolbert (Texas Tech) and Semi Ojeleye (Duke) as well as freshmen Sedrick Barefield, Jarrey Foster and Malik “Shake” Milton.
For ticket information or to be added to the season ticket waiting list, call 214-SMU-GAME (214-768-4263) or email


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>