Baseball Championship Week In OKC

by Dan M | Posted on Saturday, May 28th, 2016


By Wendall Barnhouse

A different league team has won the postseason title each of the past
five years with former league member Texas A&M the last team to repeat
as champions (2010/2011).
The No. 1 seed has advanced to the championship final eight times,
winning half of those appearances (2009, ‘05, ‘02, ‘01).
Baylor and Oklahoma have qualified for every Big 12 Championship in
the conference’s 20-year history.
While the No. 1 seed has won four titles, the fourth seed and fifth
seed have also won four each. The lowest seed to win the championship
is the No. 6 seed (Missouri, 2012 and Kansas, 2006).
The regular season champion has gone on to win the postseason crown on
five occasions (2011 – TAMU, ‘09 & ‘02 – UT and ‘05 & ‘01 – NU).
The regular season champion has appeared in the championship final
nine times, including Texas Tech in 1997 when the Red Raiders last won
the Big 12 regular season.
Texas (five – 2015, ‘09, ‘08, ‘03, ‘02) and Oklahoma (two – 2013,
1997) are the only current league teams who have multiple postseason
crowns. The Horns have won every Big 12 championship final they have
appeared in.
Baylor leads all teams with six championship finals appearances (2010,
‘07, ‘05, ‘03, ‘00, 1999).
This is the third straight year Oklahoma State and TCU have both been
seeded in the top three.
The opening round game between OSU and UT marks the 11th meeting at
the even between the two schools, which is the most championship
meetings among current league members.
Texas Tech’s No. 1 seed marks the sixth time a team seeded five or
lower in the previous year’s tournament was the top seed the next
West Virginia, in its fourth Big 12 Championship, has never met
K-State or Texas Tech at the event. Both teams are in the
Mountaineers’ half of the bracket. TCU has yet to meet K-State,
Oklahoma and Texas in the event.
The same two teams have met in the championship final just twice –
Baylor vs. Nebraska (1999, 2000, ‘01, ‘05) and Baylor vs. Texas A&M
(‘07, ‘10).
A league team has made two straight championship finals appearances on
12 occasions. Should Oklahoma State advance this year, the Cowboys
would join Nebraska as the only team to make three or more straight as
the Huskers were in the event finale from 1998-2001.
Bracket Set for 2016 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship
Seeds and game times for the 2016 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball
Championship May 25-29 at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma
City have been set.
With its regular season title, Texas Tech is the top seed and
will highlight division one of the championship bracket, playing
eighth-seeded K-State in the matinee matchup on Wednesday, May 25, at
12:30 p.m. In the first game of the session on opening day,
fourth-seeded West Virginia will take on No. 5 Oklahoma at 9:00 a.m.
Division two of the bracket features second-seeded Oklahoma State
facing seventh-seeded Texas in the 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday. No. 3 TCU
takes on No. 6 Baylor at 4:00 p.m.
Beginning at 11 a.m. on Sunday, May 22, a single-session presale
will be available by calling the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball call
center. The presale features a unique four-pack offer of four tickets
and $5 in concessions vouchers per ticket for just $69.99 and is
exclusively available to those who call 405.218.2180. With a limited
number of seats available for this offer, fans are encouraged to call
Sunday to secure the best seat locations.
All-session tickets for the event start as low as $69 and total
15 games, including the if necessary games on Saturday. The
championship will feature a total of eight sessions, all of which
include two games except for Sunday’s championship finale at 1 p.m.
Additionally, group tickets for parties of 10 or more start at
just $10 per ticket and include an in-game scoreboard message on the
centerfield video board and the opportunity for each member of the
group to enter an exclusive group raffle in order to win autographed
Big 12 merchandise.
Fans can purchase tickets by visiting, or through Ticketmaster. Tickets are also available by
visiting the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark box office or calling
Throughout the five days of the Championship, Phillips 66 will
present Big 12 Baseball Gameday – an interactive experience for all
ages – at the ballpark. The fan fest will include a full-size batting
cage for both children and adults, corn hole boards, a live pitching
simulator, a photo booth and more.
The Championship, hosted in conjunction with the Oklahoma City
All Sports Association, returns to Oklahoma City for the 17th time in
conference history as OKC will host the event through 2020.
Wednesday through Saturday’s contests will be telecast on FOX College
Sports with Sunday’s 1:00 p.m. championship game on FOX Sports
Networks. All games will also be available on FOX Sports GO to
authenticated subscribers.
Session One
Game 1: No. 4 West Virginia(33-21) vs. No. 5 Oklahoma (28-25-1) – 9:00 a.m.
Game 2: No. 1 Texas Tech (40-14) vs.
No. 8 K-State (26-29) (FCS) – 12:30 p.m.
Session Two
Game 3: No. 3 TCU (38-14) vs. No. 6 Baylor (24-27) (FCS) – 4:00 p.m.
Game 4: No. 2 Oklahoma State (35-18) vs. No. 7 Texas (22-30) (FCS) – 7:30 p.m.
Session Three
Game 5: Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser (FCS) – 9:00 a.m.
Game 6: Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser (FCS) – 12:30 p.m.
Session Four
Game 7: Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner (FCS) – 4:00 p.m.
Game 8: Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner (FCS) – 7:30 p.m.
Session Five
Game 9: Game 7 Loser vs. Game 5 Winner (FCS) – 3:15 p.m.
Game 10: Game 8 Loser vs. Game 6 Winner (FCS) – 7:30 p.m.
Session Six
Game 11: Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner (FCS) – 9:00 a.m.
Game 12: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner (FCS) – 12:30 p.m.
Session Seven
*Game 13: Winner Game 11 vs. Loser Game 11, If Necessary (FCS) – 4:00 p.m.
**Game 14: Winner Game 12 vs. Loser Game 12, If Necessary***(FCS)-7:00 p.m.
Session Eight
Game 15: Championship Game (FSN) – 1:00 p.m.
Times listed in Central.
*Game 13 will be necessary if the winner of Game 9 also wins Game 11.
**Game 14 will be necessary if the winner of Game 10 also wins Game 12.
***If Game 13 is unnecessary, Game 14 will be played at 4:30p.m.
rather than 7:30 p.m.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>