NASCAR announces stage lengths for races at TMS

by Dan M | Posted on Monday, February 20th, 2017

Stage lengths for all six NASCAR National Series races at Texas Motor
Speedway announced
FORT WORTH, Texas – Texas Motor Speedway announced Thursday the
stage lengths for the six NASCAR national series races that will be
held at the world-renowned motorsports facility this season.
The enhanced competition format that will be implemented this
season in all three NASCAR national series – Monster Energy NASCAR Cup
Series, XFINITY Series and Camping World Truck Series – will divide
every race into three stages with each carrying championship
The new race format is expected to increase the sense of urgency,
emphasize aggressive racing and strategy, and add drama with playoff
points incentivizing drivers throughout. The first two stages will be
identical in length and consist of 25 to 30 percent of the race laps
based off fuel mileage reviews conducted by NASCAR. That second stage
will conclude near the midpoint of each of those races.
For the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 500
(April 9) and AAA Texas 500 (Sunday, Nov. 5):
* Stage 1 – 85 laps (Laps 1-85)
* Stage 2 – 85 laps (Laps 86-170)
* Stage 3 – 164 laps (Laps 171-334)
 The XFINITY Series Cowboy 300 (April 8) and O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 Nov. 4):
* Stage 1 – 45 laps (Laps 1-45)
* Stage 2 – 45 laps (Laps 46-90)
* Stage 3 – 110 laps (Laps 91-200)
For the Camping World Truck Series Rattlesnake 400 (Friday, June 9):
* Stage 1 – 40 laps (Laps 1-40)
* Stage 2 – 40 laps (Laps 41-80)
* Stage 3 – 87 laps (Laps 81-167)
For the Camping World Truck Series Longhorn 350 (Friday, Nov. 3):
* Stage 1 – 35 laps (Laps 1-35)
* Stage 2 – 35 laps (Laps 36-70)
* Stage 3 – 77 laps (Laps 71-147)
The top-10 finishers of the first two stages will be awarded
additional championship points. The winners of the first two stages
will receive one playoff point, and the race winner will receive five
playoff points. Each playoff point will be added to the driver’s reset
total following race No. 26, if that competitor makes the playoffs.
All playoff points will carry through to the end of the third
round of the playoffs (Round of 8) that includes the AAA Texas 500,
with the Championship 4 racing straight-up at Homestead-Miami Speedway
for the title.
Championship points following the first two stages will be
awarded on a descending scale, with the stage winner receiving 10
points, second receiving 9, etc. The race winner following the final
stage will now receive 40 points, second place will receive 35, third
place 34, fourth place 33, and so on down the finishing order.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>