Mustangs Take On Mississippi State In First Round Of NCAA Tournament

by Dan M | Posted on Friday, May 12th, 2017

SMU Logo
No. 38 SMU (13-11, 2-3 AAC) vs. No. 18 Miss. State (20-8, 8-4 SEC) May 12,10 am.
The No. 38 SMU men’s tennis team (13-11, 2-3 AAC) will play
No.18 Mississippi State (20-8, 8-4 SEC) in the first round of the NCAA
Championships hosted by the University of Oklahoma.
The Norman regional is made of SMU, Mississippi State, Bryant
University and Oklahoma. The SMU and Mississippi State match will be
followed by Bryant and OU.
The Bulldogs are currently 20-8 and finished the Southeastern
Conference season 8-4. Mississippi State advanced to the SEC
Tournament Championship match before falling to then-No. 13 Georgia
4-3. Mississippi State is led by the No. 4 ranked singles player in
the country, Nuno Borges, and the No. 8 double team in the nation,
Trevor Foshey and Niclas Braun. Borges finished the regular season
19-3, while the duo ended with an 11-7 record.
This is the first time SMU and Mississippi State have met since
2001. SMU leads the series 2-0, winning the last meeting 4-2. The
Mustangs and the Bulldogs have only met on neutral courts.
vs. Mississippi State (2-0)
SMU is currently ranked as the No. 38 team in the country. Two
Mustangs are ranked in ITA singles rankings and one SMU doubles team
is in the ITA doubles rankings. Ronald Slobodchikov is the No. 68
ranked singles player in the nation, while Hunter Johnson holds the
No. 96 spot. Seniors Hunter Johnson and Yates Johnson are currently
ranked the No. 28 doubles team in the country.
During Neufeld’s tenure Mustang players have earned 12 All-America honors.
Singles: Johan Brunstrom (2004), Genius Chidzikwe (2001), Toby Hansson
(2000), Ignacio Hirigoyen (1999)
Doubles: Eric Cohn (2002), Johan Brunstrom (2001, 02), Jon Wallmark
(2000, 01), Toby Hansson (2000), Dustin Mauck (1999), Keith Pollak
Head coach Carl Neufeld ranks second among all-time wins at SMU
with 410, and is the winningest active SMU head coach.
SMU Coaching All-Time Wins Career
1. Rhonda Rompola (1992-2016) Women’s Basketball (SMU 439-Career 439)
2. Carl Neufeld (1994 – present) Men’s Tennis (SMU 410 – Career 591)
3. Schellas Hyndman (1984-2007)
Men’s Soccer (SMU 368 – Career 466)
4. Lisa Seifert (1996 – present) Volleyball (SMU 364 – Career 383)
5. Doc Hayes (1947-1967) Men’s Basketball (SMU 299 –
Career 299)


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>