Bragan Award Denotes Semifinalists

by BoCarter | Posted on Wednesday, May 24th, 2017
Special to Sports Page DFW…
Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Announces Semifinalists for 2017 Honor
The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) announced today the list of semifinalists for the 2017 award. The inaugural award, created by the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas.
The four semifinalists for the BBCSA are Rice’s Dominic DiCaprio (SO., Coral Springs, Florida), Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove (SR., Mansfield, Texas), Houston’s Jake Scheiner (JR., Santa Rosa California), and Texas A&M’s Braden Shewmake (FR., Wylie, Texas).
“It’s been an incredible college baseball season and a great year to launch the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award,” said BBSCA executive director Tracy Taylor. ” The Advisory and Selection Committees have done a wonderful job covering the 21 DI college programs in Texas and helping to identify these players that are not only great hitters, but outstanding student-athletes and better young men. They are great examples of what the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is focused on: Academics, Athletics and Integrity. We are especially appreciative of the schools across the state that embraced the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award and contributed so much to getting the program off the ground.”
The BBCSA originally had 22 players nominated for the award from 21 Division I programs in the state. Eight more players were added to the watch list at midseason. A 15-member selection committee votes on the candidates. The award is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity.
The winner of the inaugural Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award will be announced in mid-June and honored at a gala in the fall.
Fans can follow news about the BBCSA at
For more information contact Tracy Taylor, the executive director for the BBCSA, at 972-978-5309.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>